It’ll Never Be Good Enough

We’re always complaining– about everything.  However rich or beautiful we are, it’s never good enough.  We never look good enough.  We never have enough.  However great life is going, there’s always something to complain about.

I was washing the dishes and got annoyed: it’s not fair. I’m always left with chores around the house when my mom is at work.  Always. The more I thought about it, the madder I got.  When my mom got home, she was her usual tired self, and I thought: why does it have to be this way? Just when she thought her job was getting good, it turns bad.  People’s aura affects me, as in, if you’re mad, I’m mad. If you’re annoyed, I’m annoyed.  So yeah.  There I was thinking how much life isn’t fair.  Why can’t everyone just be happy?

That’s when my song came on: All this Time by OneRepublic.  Dang. One song can truly change your mood.  I thought: what the hell am I complaining about? Why am I such a brat? I should be happy that I have dishes to wash, a mother that comes home and who has a job, running water, and just having the opportunity to live.

If I had an honest resume, it would say: “My quality: great complainer!”  It’s disgusting, really.  Not just me, but everyone else in the world (ok, most… some people don’t complain as much).  We complain too much.  Nothing is good enough.  We always find room for improvement.  However many times I look at the mirror, my reflection is never good enough.  I could have whiter teeth, better structure, be a better person.  . . never good enough.  When will we stop? Never? I don’t know, but I sure do need to work on this.

Categories: My Thoughts | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

