Humans are SO Impatient!

Humans have a limited amount of patience; I can see it everywhere: the constant tapping and fidgeting with their fingers while waiting for someone, the “rolling of the eyes” because someone had 21 items in the 20 item or less line, and the classic… beeping someone two seconds after the traffic light turns green.

Seriously people, is there something really THAT important we have to go to that we get so impatient? I can understand if you are about to have an accident in your pants, or have a pregnant lady on the back of your car. But come on.  If you have nothing important to do that day, and you get irratated and even furious at someone who’s holding you back, then you gotta start thinking about that! Breathe!

I know that I get impatient at times too: today, I realized just how bad it was.

I left the house five minutes later than I usually do to drive to school. I thought, hey, five minutes won’t hurt! (I usually arrive at my first class 5 minutes early anyways) Little did I know that that five minutes would turn me into a lunatic. (ok, I’m just kidding… that’s a little much)

First of all, I was going one way and a school bus the other (coming towards me)

So that’s my view basically, as I’m driving forward. . . Anyways, the bus driver was already stopping and sticking out that little “Stop” sign on the side, but everyone else in front of me sped up!!! They didn’t want to wait for the children! (Legally, you HAVE to stop right?)  I almost did the same, because I didn’t want to be late for my class.  Then I thought: Wow. I am SO selfish.  If I kept on going, there was a possibility that a child could have run up. I could have hit him! So I just waited, looking at the happy little children.  I’d be more patient next time, I said

But right after, I hit a red light and there I was! FIDGETY! Being in a stop light seems wayyy longer when you’re in a hurry.  I started tapping my fingers like an impatient human being, telling the light to turn green.  Finally! It changed colors and I sped up.  There I go again, being impatient. . . so sad. haha. By then, I was way later than I expected (but still had a few minutes until class started), so I hoped for nothing else to be on the way.  YEAH RIGHT.  The railroad tracks just HAD to stop the cars to pass through right? RIGHT. I noticed how impatient I was getting again and it made me sick.  I am such a bad person! Surely, the gravel loaded train wouldn’t take longer than 2 minutes.  I’m sure it didn’t, but again, it felt like it was forever.  But then, I thought…And thought. As I watched each section of the moving vehicle pass me by, I noticed how amazing it was.  It’s amazing how far we’ve come, as human beings, to invent something that can transport tons and tons of resources from one place to another! I sat in awe like a child watching a magician for the first time. 

Finally, I came to the conclusion that we are always in SUCH a rush! We live in such a fast-paced society that we forget to observe the true beauty of our world.  Not only nature, but mechanics, tools, people, just EVERYTHING! We are SO lucky.  We just have to take the time to notice it. 

In the end, I ended up only being 5 minutes late for my class (can you believe that?) They didn’t even start on anything yet, and I was the one who was rushing like a maniac.  Crazy.  Next time, I’ll just leave my house on time. 🙂 but if DO end up being a few minutes late, I’ll just breathe and take in the little things.

 

Categories: My Thoughts | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

