Vegetarian Hummus Sandwich

I was hungry so I went over to my refrigerator to find something for lunch.  Sadly, there wasn’t anything to eat! I did notice the container with enough hummus to fill me up.  I’ve been eating hummus for a snack for the past week with multigrain cracker.  Unfortunately, we ran out of those flavorful crackers :(.  That’s when my brain lit up!!! I had bread in the pantry, along with a cucumber, tomato, and salad in the refrigerator.  I was going to make a hummus sandwhich 🙂 !

I’ve tried a Panera Bread’s Cilantro Basil Hummus Sandwhich a few weeks ago and I really enjoyed the flavors.  The only thing that I really didn’t like about it was that all the fillings made the bread very soggy.  I decided that when I make my sandwhich, that I’ll have to eat it as soon as I’m finished preparing it so it won’t get soggy.

Here is what I used:

  • 2 slices of Oatmeal Bread
  • Sliced cucumbers
  • Sliced tomatoes
  • Sabra Roasted Pine Nut Hummus
  • mixed greens

 

How I made it:

  1. Toast the 2 slices of bread (helps so that it won’t get soggy as fast).
  2. Spread desired hummus amount on both slices of bread.
  3. Pile sliced cucumbers and tomatoes on top.
  4. Add the leafy greens.
  5. Cut sandwich.

There you have it! It’s not only delicious, but also very healthy for you! Next time, I’ll try to make my own hummus.  I’m sure home-made is better than a packaged. 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

